mechanic stripped oil drain plug

save. This example is on a Honda 3.5 and it is a semi-common repair in the sjop. It is also a multi-use tool and can be used for various purposes. This is an oil drain valve of 14mm that also features a metallic finish. I have been working as a mechanic for over fifteen years. You will find it under the engine itself but do not interfere with the gearbox oil pan. The dealer claims he did not strip it and it must have been a factory defect that they didn't notice when they put it away last fall. Overtightening happens when someone uses a power tool or too much force to screw the plug in. Obviously, it’s best to be careful and avoid damage in the first place. 2001 Hyndai Elantra. Not sure its a friend of mine. Automotive Mechanic. Once that happen, you’ll leak oil. Once you have drained all the oil in the oil pan, use a clean cloth to clean the teeth of the oil pan and put a new gasket. Jack the car up in the front, so it tilts away from where the oil pan drain is located. Wtf is this? Engine oil stays in the oil pans found in the vehicle. They … Your email address will not be published. First off, it might be difficult to remove, so avoid using vice grips, as those may strip the head. About 50% of the Vanagons that come through GoWesty have damaged or totally stripped-out oil drain plug holes. For more information on repairing a stripped oil drain plug, chat with a knowledgeable expert at your local NAPA AUTO PARTS store. In the case of the oil drain plug, this usually results in stripping out the threads in the oil pan. I have to discuss with my mechanic the problem of my oil drain plug being stripped by some wingnut in the past. Posted by 6 days ago. Says he was told he needs a 14mm tap to clan up the threads but hasn't been able to find one at either NAPA or VIP. 17 comments. College kid next door uses it to get back and forth to school. the oil plug gasket which can break or fall apart, and the oil pan gasket which can wear away